Manitoba Artists Land Nominations for 2017 Indigenous Music Awards

WINNIPEG, MB. –The Manitoba country scene shines in the list of this year’s nominations at the 2017 Indigenous Music Awards. Four of five nominees for Best Country Album are from Manitoba, including nods for Jade Turner, JC Campbell, Kimberley Dawn, and Renée Lamoureux. Turner and Campbell are also both vying for Best Music Video.

The winners will be revealed at a gala event at the Club Regent Event Centre in Winnipeg on May 19. Presented annually by Manito Ahbee Festival, Indigenous Music Awards (formerly Aboriginal Peoples Choice Music Awards) is the world’s premier awards show recognizing the accomplishments of Indigenous recording artists and music industry professionals from around the globe.

Other nominees this year include: local rock outfits The Bloodshots and The Deeds both with nods in the Best Rock Album category; Western Canadian Music Award-winning husband and wife duo Nadia and Jason Burnstick for Best Folk Album; Classically-trained singer Rhonda Head for Best Inuit, Indigenous Language, or Francophone Album; up-and-coming act Lisa Muswagon for Best New Artist; Murray Pulver and Hangar Studios’ Tom Dutiaume for Best Producer/Engineer for their work with JC Campbell and Kimberley Dawn, respectively; and CBC Radio One’s Unreserved: Radio Indigenous with Rosanna Deerchild for Best Radio Station Program Promotion Indigenous Music.

Also up for awards, Swan Lake-raised and Peterborough-based singer/songwriter Tara Williamson landed a nod for Best Pop Album and Manitoba-born, Ontario-raised artist NADJIWAN is up for Best Radio Single.

Kimberley Dawn, who is also the Morning Show Host at Now Country 104.7, and fellow country singer/songwriter Jerry Sereda will take up hosting duties for this year’s celebration.

The IMAs take place during the Manito Ahbee Festival, which runs May 17-21, 2017 in Winnipeg and includes a music conference, international pow wow, trade show and marketplace, youth education day, and more.  

Several of this year’s Manitoba-based nominees have participated in Manitoba Music’s Aboriginal Music Program as well as professional and market development programs during their careers, accessing assistance to showcase in new markets and in making critical business contacts. Manitoba Music’s programs and services are made possible by the generous support of the Province of Manitoba, FACTOR through the financial support of the Government of Canada and Canada’s private radio broadcasters, Manitoba Film & Music, The Jim Pattison Broadcast Group, The SOCAN Foundation, and members of the music industry of Manitoba.

You can find a complete list of 2017 IMA nominees, just click here

Kevin Klein, MyToba News

Kevin Klein is President and CEO of MyToba News. The former publisher and CEO of the Winnipeg Sun, Kevin has spent several years in Canadian media working in newspapers, radio and television. A proud and passionate citizen of Winnipeg and Manitoba, Kevin is excited to bring you news, pictures and information on the many wonderful charity groups in our province. If you have an event you want us to know about, email Kevin at and follow him on Twitter @kevinkleinwpg.
Related Posts