Jets Release 2017-18 Schedule

WINNIPEG, MB – The Winnipeg Jets will open the 2017-18 National Hockey League season on Oct. 4 against the Toronto Maple Leafs at Bell MTS Place.

On Thursday, the Jets released the entire 2017-18 schedule and there are a number of highlights, beginning with the fact that the Jets open at home against Auston Matthews and the Leafs:

  1. The team’s first road game is at Calgary on Saturday, Oct. 7.

 

  1. The Jets will play three of the first four games of the season away from the Winnipeg. The club will travel to Las Vegas to face the NHL’s newest club, the Golden Knights, on Nov. 10 before welcoming them to Winnipeg for a pair of meetings on Dec. 1 and Feb. 1.

 

  1. The longest homestand of the season will span 10 games from Jan. 30-Feb. 20.

 

  1. The longest road trip of the season will take place from March 4-13 when the Jets play six straight games in nine days away from Winnipeg.

 

  1. The Jets will face Canadian teams at Bell MTS Place on seven occasions during the 2017-18 season, while they’ll play in the other six Canadian cities a total of eight times. The Maple Leafs make their lone trip to Bell MTS Place for the home opener, the Montreal Canadiens come to Winnipeg on Nov. 4, and the Ottawa Senators visit on Dec. 3. The Jets will play host to the Vancouver Canucks twice, on Dec. 11 and Jan. 21. The Edmonton Oilers make their lone trip to Bell MTS Place on Dec. 27 and Winnipeg will not play host to Calgary until the second-last game of the year on Apr. 5.

 

  1. December and March will be the busiest months. The Jets will play 15 games in each month. It will be a split of seven games at Bell MTS Place and eight games on the road in both months.

 

  1. Winnipeg will play nine back-to-back games with seven of those featuring a pair of road games.

 

  1. This year will be the second year in a row to feature the five-day break during the season. The Jets will actually have six days without a game from Jan. 14-19.

 

  1. The Jets will take on their Central Division rivals – Chicago Blackhawks, Colorado Avalanche, Dallas Stars, Minnesota Wild, Nashville Predators and St. Louis Blues – a total of 26 times with half of those match-ups coming at Bell MTS Place.

 

  1. The Jets will play the remainder of the Western Conference from the Pacific Division – Anaheim Ducks, Arizona Coyotes, Calgary Flames, Edmonton Oilers, Los Angeles Kings, San Jose Sharks, Vancouver Canucks, and Vegas Golden Knights – a total of 24 times with 12 of those games coming at home.

 

  1. The Jets will also host and visit every team in the Eastern Conference once throughout the 2017-18 season.

 

Start times indicated on the attached schedule are in Central Time (CST). Times may vary depending on broadcast requirements. Television broadcast schedules will be released shortly. However, all 82 games will once again be broadcast on the radio on TSN 1290 this season.

 

The 2017-18 Schedule:

 

DATE OPPONENT TIME
OCTOBER
Wednesday, Oct. 4 Toronto 6:00 p.m.
Saturday, Oct. 7 at Calgary 9:00 p.m.
Monday, Oct. 9 at Edmonton 8:00 p.m.
Thursday, Oct. 12 at Vancouver 9:00 p.m.
Saturday, Oct. 14 Carolina 6:00 p.m.
Tuesday, Oct. 17 Columbus 7:00 p.m.
Friday, Oct. 20 Minnesota 7:00 p.m.
Thursday, Oct. 26 at Pittsburgh 6:00 p.m.
Friday, Oct. 27 at Columbus 6:00 p.m.
Sunday, Oct. 29 Pittsburgh 6:00 p.m.
Tuesday, Oct. 31 at Minnesota 7:00 p.m.
NOVEMBER
Thursday, Nov. 2 Dallas 7:00 p.m.
Saturday, Nov. 4 Montreal 6:00 p.m.
Monday, Nov. 6 at Dallas 7:30 p.m.
Friday, Nov. 10 at Vegas 9:30 p.m.
Saturday, Nov. 11 at Arizona 9:00 p.m.
Tuesday, Nov. 14 Arizona 7:00 p.m.
Thursday, Nov. 16 Philadelphia 7:00 p.m.
Saturday, Nov. 18 New Jersey 2:00 p.m.
Monday, Nov. 20 at Nashville 7:00 p.m.
Wednesday, Nov. 22 at Los Angeles 9:30 p.m.
Friday, Nov. 24 at Anaheim 3:00 p.m.
Saturday, Nov. 25 at San Jose 9:00 p.m.
Monday, Nov. 27 Minnesota 7:00 p.m.
Wednesday, Nov. 29 at Colorado 8:30 p.m.
DECEMBER
Friday, Dec. 1 Vegas 7:00 p.m.
Sunday, Dec. 3 Ottawa 6:00 p.m.
Tuesday, Dec. 5 at Detroit 6:30 p.m.
Thursday, Dec. 7 at Florida 6:30 p.m.
Saturday, Dec. 9 at Tampa Bay 6:00 p.m.
Monday, Dec. 11 Vancouver 7:00 p.m.
Thursday, Dec. 14 Chicago 7:00 p.m.
Saturday, Dec. 16 at St. Louis 6:00 p.m.
Sunday, Dec. 17 St. Louis 5:00 p.m.
Tuesday, Dec. 19 at Nashville 7:00 p.m.
Thursday, Dec. 21 at Boston 6:00 p.m.
Saturday, Dec. 23 at NY Islanders 12:00 p.m.
Wednesday, Dec. 27 Edmonton 7:00 p.m.
Friday, Dec. 29 NY Islanders 7:00 p.m.
Sunday, Dec. 31 at Edmonton 8:00 p.m.
JANUARY
Tuesday, Jan. 2 at Colorado 8:00 p.m.
Friday, Jan. 5 Buffalo 7:00 p.m.

 

Sunday, Jan. 7 San Jose 2:00 p.m.
Tuesday, Jan. 9 at Buffalo 6:00 p.m.
Friday, Jan. 12 at Chicago 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, Jan. 13 at Minnesota 6:00 p.m.
PLAYER BREAK – JAN. 14-19
Saturday, Jan. 20 at Calgary 2:00 p.m.
Sunday, Jan. 21 Vancouver 7:00 p.m.
Tuesday, Jan. 23 at San Jose 9:30 p.m.
Thursday, Jan. 25 at Anaheim 9:00 p.m.
NHL ALL-STAR GAME – JAN. 27 & 28 – TAMPA BAY
Tuesday, Jan. 30 Tampa Bay 7:00 p.m.
FEBRUARY
Thursday, Feb. 1 Vegas 7:00 p.m.
Saturday, Feb. 3 Colorado 6:00 p.m.
Tuesday, Feb. 6 Arizona 7:00 p.m.
Friday, Feb. 9 St. Louis 7:00 p.m.
Sunday, Feb. 11 NY Rangers 2:00 p.m.
Tuesday, Feb. 13 Washington 7:00 p.m.
Friday, Feb. 16 Colorado 7:00 p.m.
Sunday, Feb. 18 Florida 7:00 p.m.
Tuesday, Feb. 20 Los Angeles 7:00 p.m.
Friday, Feb. 23 at St. Louis 7:00 p.m.
Saturday, Feb. 24 at Dallas 6:00 p.m.
Tuesday, Feb. 27 Nashville 7:00 p.m.
MARCH
Friday, Mar. 2 Detroit 7:00 p.m.
Sunday, Mar. 4 at Carolina 6:00 p.m.
Tuesday, Mar. 6 at NY Rangers 6:00 p.m.
Thursday, Mar. 8 at New Jersey 6:00 p.m.
Saturday, Mar. 10 at Philadelphia 12:00 p.m.
Monday, Mar. 12 at Washington 6:00 p.m.
Tuesday, Mar. 13 at Nashville 7:00 p.m.
Thursday, Mar. 15 Chicago 7:00 p.m.
Sunday, Mar. 18 Dallas 6:30 p.m.
Tuesday, Mar. 20 Los Angeles 7:00 p.m.
Friday, Mar. 23 Anaheim 7:00 p.m.
Sunday, Mar. 25 Nashville 6:00 p.m.
Tuesday, Mar. 27 Boston 7:00 p.m.
Thursday, Mar. 29 at Chicago 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, Mar. 31 at Toronto 6:00 p.m.
APRIL
Monday, Apr. 2 at Ottawa 6:30 p.m.
Tuesday, Apr. 3 at Montreal 6:30 p.m.
Thursday, Apr. 5 Calgary 7:00 p.m.
Saturday, Apr. 7 Chicago 6:00 p.m.

 

Scott Taylor, MyToba Sports

Photo by James Carey Lauder

 

 

 

Editor of the popular Game On Hockey Magazine and The Point After Football Magazine, editor of Canadian Meat Business Magazine, sports editor of Grassroots News, TV play-by-play voice of the Winnipeg Goldeyes and author of the bestselling book: The Winnipeg Jets: A Celebration of Professional Hockey in Winnipeg. He likes virgin pina coladas, long walks on the beach, puppies and thoroughbred race horses that run according to form.
Related Posts